I am getting old

img_6911_2_3_4_5The oddness of it was not the shock of it
but the well of it I fell into—
that scent was all I could recall.
It was not a perfume, but a musk,
and that deep drink was more
then all the else I could remember.
That is, I suppose, not her truth,
but mine.

up

I have not posted anything for a long while, the main reason being my pre-occupation with completing my Master’s degree in Digitial Science from Kent State. I completed the last course over the weekend and am now free to get back to two of my favorite pre-occupations: poetry and photography. So fair warning: more poetry to come!

Thank you for reading I am getting old. I humbly appreciate your visiting the Book of Pain, and as always, I look forward to your comments.

The photograph was taken on Long Island, New York, one beautiful New Year’s Day several years ago. To see my photography blog, please visit the Book of Bokeh.

john

Photograph, poem and notes © John Etheridge; all rights reserved. The poem and accompanying notes are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License. This applies to all original written work found on this site, unless noted otherwise. The attribution claimed under the license is: © John Etheridge,  https://bookofpain.wordpress.com. The photograph is not licensed for use in any way without the expressed consent of its creator.

11 Comments

Filed under Poetry

11 responses to “I am getting old

  1. Pete Hulme

    Well done for the MSc – never an easy ride. Good to see you back, John. Looking forward to more poems!

  2. Congratulations, John! Great to have that behind you. I’ll be watching for more of your fun work.

  3. markrenney2

    Welcome back John.

    • Thank you Mark. There are many blogs on the web but none quite so eclectic or fascinating as yours. All my best to Christine, too. I’ll be re-haunting her photo site as soon as I can.

  4. Congratulations on your degree! I’ve started wondering when I’ll also feel that I’m getting old – but there’s plenty of fun to be had, and I hope you’re enjoying yourself 🙂

  5. Can I ruin a poem? I was looking at my “age spots” on my leg. They just appeared out of Nowhere. You are blessed to have a she that loves all your years.