Schizophrenia

up

Roll up, roll ’round, curve over, curve down,
waves on the sea, beating/beating/beating,
pounding and grasping me—holding me.
Dark cold waves, dull sheen/deep green, shush,
tears lashed from the cusp, slamming to and fro,
my back breaking and my head rolling off my shoulders.
They whisper, these sirens, as they roll and they toll
and demand I hear what isn’t there. I listen.

There are no unbelievers who go down to this sea to sink
beneath its waves—is it truly only me that can hear me?
Sunrise to sunrise, pay this/pay that, naught for free/always a fee,
it has taken me, it has left me, it will forever surge around me
and through me, a storm raging in the lee that should be me
but is not. I will weep this way eternally, ever with
this dark green sea, this lost salty sea, this rolling big sea,
that’s me, yes me…there is no land in sight. I am lost.

swril2

Mental illness is a terrible burden both for the individual and the family, but especially when it is possible to see through the facade of the disease into the beauty of the mind and soul lost beneath the affliction.

Thank you for reading Schizophrenia. I humbly appreciate your visiting the Book of Pain, and as always, I look forward to your comments.

The photograph was taken from Gay Head point, Martha’s Vineyard island, Massachusetts. For more photography, please visit the Book of Bokeh.

john

Photograph, poem and notes © 2014 by John Etheridge; all rights reserved. The poem and accompanying notes are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License. This applies to all original written work found on this site, unless noted otherwise. The attribution claimed under the license is: © 2014 by John Etheridge,  https://bookofpain.wordpress.com. The photograph is not licensed for use or reproduction in any way, unless so granted in writing by the copyright owner.

4 Comments

Filed under Poetry

4 responses to “Schizophrenia

  1. This is beautifully written. It is one of my favourites now.