Héloïse Haven’s “Parched”

The old wooden bucket plunges deep into the well,
The weathered staves bound by rings once bronzed.
Dangling from the old frayed rope,
It sways with each turn of the tired crank.
Deeper still, wafts of staleness drift upward
Until the small splash echoes laggardly.
The rusty lever groans as it begins the ascent,
Tired and worn from a life of long hauls.
One last crank to reach the light,
The shaft hesitates, the rope wavers,
The weary bucket crashes down.

 

up

 

 

Héloïse  is a dear friend who has been, thus far, reluctant to publish her very fine poetry. I am hoping by seeing her poem here that she will be convinced to start her own blog and publish more of her work.

To see my photography blog, please visit the Book of Bokeh.

john

Poem © 2014 by Héloïse Haven; all rights reserved. The poem and accompanying notes are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License..

6 Comments

Filed under Poetry

6 responses to “Héloïse Haven’s “Parched”

  1. l really enjoyed Heloise’s poem and think she will surprise herself (in a very good way) if she started her own blog. I think more and more people are reading and enjoying poetry. I find it very fulfilling and would do it even if no one ever read it but me – and the readership does vary quite a lot!

    • Denise, thank you for your encouragement which I have passed on to Heloise. I think she has been quite delighted in the positive response to her work and I too am hoping she will be publishing more of it soon.

    • Denise, Heloise asked me to pass this on to you: I think you are quite right that it’s very fulfilling to read poetry! I have found it very rewarding to begin to write poetry and am excited to continue. Be on the lookout for Heloise’s Haven!

  2. A kind act of encouragement. And a gift to those who follow your blog, John. This is a beautiful piece. Please pass on my thanks to Heloise for writing this. I would love to see more of her work.

    • T, I will pass on your thanks and while doing so will reiterate your assessment of the poem…it is a wonderfully concise and emotional poem with a clear message and a clean, heartfelt sentiment. When I read the very first draft I thought, wow! this one has got to see the light of day!

    • T, Heloise asked me to pass this on to you: Thank you for your kind words about “Parched.” Posting my first poem to a blog was a big step for me, but I am eager to continue to write and create my own blog.