Faith

fire

Wood to your fire,
smoke to your light,
ash from your heat—
I ponder, but you burn.

up

As always, Lyn.

The photograph is entitled Can’t you hear my bread a bakin’? and was taken in Pennsylvania. For more photography, please visit the Book of Bokeh.

Thank you for reading Faith. I sincerely hope you have enjoyed it and I humbly appreciate your visiting the Book of Pain. As always, I look forward to your comments.

john

Photograph, poem and notes © 2014 by John Etheridge; all rights reserved. The poem and accompanying notes are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License. This applies to all original written work found on this site, unless noted otherwise. The attribution claimed under the license is: © 2014 by John Etheridge, https://bookofpain.wordpress.com. The photograph is not licensed for use or reproduction in any way, unless so granted in writing by the copyright owner.

6 Comments

Filed under Poetry

6 responses to “Faith

  1. sfielding2013

    Sweet!

    • Stephanie, so sorry it has taken me so long to respond. I apologize! Thank you for your comment. More than most, I am sure that you appreciate the duality I am talking about here…understanding and knowledge is one thing, but the heart of true faith is love. That’s Lyn.

    • Denise, thank you! It is a tad odd that for me, I tend to say the most when I say the least. Hmmm….. 🙂

      • To me, silence has its own words that are difficult to express sufficiently in actual ‘words’ so-to-speak, John. We can feel them, but cannot utter them as clearly as we would wish, yet we feel them in the silence.

      • If I was a lesser man (OK, really, “if I was sure I wouldn’t get caught”) I’d steal that and put it in a poem. “we feel it in the silence” is beautifully said.