And each duly sets

The poem rose late, full and round in the winter night.
I, going home, was amused by the little puffs
of vapor I pushed out into the silvery sheen—
the crunch of the snow, the bite of the air,
the swishing of wither I went.
There’s no rhyme to that, I thought,
retreating further into my coat,
pulling the night in close around me.
But there was.

up

Thank you for reading And each duly sets. I sincerely hope you have enjoyed it and I humbly appreciate your visiting the Book of Pain. As always, I look forward to your comments.

The photograph is entitled Let’s not today and was taken in Lincoln, NH, if, I recall, through a patio door on a day that was bitterly cold and wonderfully snowy. For more photography, please visit the Book of Bokeh.

john

Photograph, poem and notes © 2014 by John Etheridge; all rights reserved. The poem and accompanying notes are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License. This applies to all original written work found on this site, unless noted otherwise. The attribution claimed under the license is: © 2014 by John Etheridge, https://bookofpain.wordpress.com. The photograph is not licensed for use or reproduction in any way, unless so granted in writing by the copyright owner.

4 Comments

Filed under Poetry

4 responses to “And each duly sets

    • KB, for such a short poem, it is shocking how long I ruminated on it. I thought it would be more to your liking then “It’s long been written.”

  1. Never read anything like this. This is pristine. T