Just what time is it, anyway?

Silence is neither always good nor bad,
but it is what clings to you late into the night.
My settled wife has stumbled into settled slumber,
a rational thing to do I’d agree, but still,
here I am, bone weary, too drained to get up and join her.

The continent this night got together to turn their clocks
upside down and backside front, and—convinced as I was
to connive in on the madness—I think that explains me
now: I was supposed to fall back and apparently I did,
because whatever time it is, it’s too late for me now.
“Dear, come to bed,” she says.

Find your voice. Rejoice. Pray and listen.
Grab wisdom and don’t be stupid.
I went to bed.

This poem is only a slightly edited version of a posting at my friend, T.’s blog SpeakListenPrayDon’tBeStupid…a blog name that, you must agree, demands love. The post was entitled Find Your Voice! Find Your Voice! And Listen… and it was such a fine read that I asked him if I could write it into a poem.

OK, truthfully, I actually just wrote the poem and asked for forgiveness after, but that’s sort of the same thing. In any event, T. said yes. I love his tag line (it is italicized in the poem), especially the straight up, “don’t be stupid.”

Thank you for reading Just what time is it, anyway? I sincerely hope you have enjoyed it and I humbly appreciate your visiting the Book of Pain. As always, I look forward to your comments.

john

© 2013 by John Etheridge; all rights reserved. This poem and accompanying notes are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License. This applies to all original work found on this site, unless noted otherwise. The attribution claimed under the license is: © 2013 by John Etheridge, https://bookofpain.wordpress.com.

9 Comments

Filed under Poetry

9 responses to “Just what time is it, anyway?

  1. John, I really do love the turn your poetry of late has taken. It has brought out you true ability to communicate, something I knew was there simply in the excellent way you have always critiqued my work. Kudos. >KB

    • KB, that is incredibly generous of you and I appreciate it very, very much. My evening course will be over soon and I will be able to get back to editing a few of your poems. I enjoy doing it very much and am looking forward to it! After the first week in December I’m ‘free’ until January…as much as I am enjoying it, I am so looking forward to it being done!

  2. Hey, John ! Thanks for the kind words about my post / blog. It is really cool to see what you can do in your poetry with story: your story, and the stories of others. In a place and time where things move too fast, and get a little too crazy, your blog is a good place to come, and sit for a while, and enjoy your craft of writing. Peace, Tim. By the way, This is a great piece, and one of my favorite portions is this one: ” My settled wife has stumbled into settled slumber …”

    • T., thank you for being kind enough to let me plagiarizer your post for the poem. My favorite portion and what hooked me from the start is the last verse, the rest is just setup. And that is entirely yours. Humble advice, humble submission, there are few better admonitions in life!

  3. So, I visited T’s site and compared it how it was laid out. It does make a difference, similar to where to place a punctuation.

  4. Reblogged this on SpeakListenPrayDon'tBeStupid and commented:
    Enjoy this read! I am so honored that John wrote a poem based on my post, “Find Your Voice! Find Your Voice! And Listen…” His blog is a great blog, “The Book of Pain” (https://bookofpain.wordpress.com).

  5. Finally, I reblogged this. My computer is being quite mutinous, as of lately. I hope you are having a good week, John.

  6. Pingback: A writer and a poet | theseeker