Ian Hamilton’s “The Garden”

Ian Hamilton is a poet from the second half of the 20th century who I greatly admire and whose poetry I love to champion. You can find a listing of more of his poems on the Book of Pain here.

The Garden

This garden’s leaning in on us, green-shadowed
Shadowed green, as if to say: be still, don’t agitate
For what’s been overgrown—
Some cobbled little serpent of a path,
Perhaps, an arbour, a dry pond
That you’d have plans for if this place belonged to you.
The vegetation’s rank, I’ll grant you that,
The weeds well out of order, shoulder-high
And too complacently deranged. The trees
Ought not to scrape your face, your hands, your hair
Nor so haphazardly swarm upwards to breathe
In summertime. It shouldn’t be so dark
So early.
All the same, if I were you,
I’d let it be. Lay down your scythe. Don’t fidget
For old clearances, or new. For one more day
Let’s listen to our shadows and be glad
That this much light has managed to get through.

For more on Ian Hamilton, I refer you to his Wikipedia page.

Thank you for reading Ian Hamilton’s “The Garden”. I sincerely hope you have enjoyed it and I humbly appreciate your visiting the Book of Pain. As always, I look forward to your comments.

john

Comments © 2013 by John Etheridge; all rights reserved.

7 Comments

Filed under Poetry

7 responses to “Ian Hamilton’s “The Garden”

  1. Cathy DePorte

    What a lovely poem, John. Thank you for posting it and for introducing me to Ian Hamilton.

    Hope all is well with you, Lyn and your family.
    Love to you both,
    Cathy

  2. Cathy, it is so good to hear from you! Thank you for sharing my love of Ian Hamilton’s poetry. Honestly, the more I read it, the more I love it!

    Lyn and I were quite disappointed not to see you and Terry at the recent Regional Convention. It has been far, far too long since we got together. Can we look forward to dinner out sometime soon? That would be lovely.

  3. Too good. One of his best that I’ve read.