The warp and woof of creation

From the warp and woof of creation
are we made, you and I. Truly,
I remember it well,
it was then, that then,
that perfect instance
before the smallest slice of hence,
when every tiny bit was hurling into
being and aiming straight for this now—
this now with its cold, cruel lament in the sky.

But what exactly is this sterner stuff
that you and I are made of?
We are the longing that binds us to the whole
and weaves us both from and into
the fabric of our time. See?
Here and now/there and then,
that’s us, screaming at the darksome sky.

For some odd reason I can neither understand nor explain, I spend a lot of time thinking about time. And although I am not a Christian, let me make my point using an often used quote from the Bible: I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end, the first and the last. (Revelations 22:13). Alpha and omega, being the first and last letters of the Greek alphabet, represent the beginning of eternity and the end of eternity, i.e. infinity in both directions.

This statement sounds all powerful, and I do believe in the All Powerful God of the Old and New Testaments. But this aspect of God’s Majesty is not based on the fact that God predates time and will be God after time ends. That notion may have worked for an older time, but today I think we can recognize it for the somewhat smoke and mirror truth it is. In fact, with The warp and woof of creation, my point is that I believe we all predate time and we will all exist after it ends.

Time is, no more and no less, a physical dimension of the physical world, and with the three spatial dimensions, comprise the 3D world we live in that progresses forward into the future. But all peoples of all religions who believe in a Deity, by definition of that belief, believe that we are spiritual beings (and, truly, mainly spiritual beings) anchored only, while we are living, in this physical world. Thus, in coming from a spiritual existence we predate time, and when we leave the physical realm we will exist after time. In fact, this goes even deeper: once you are out of time’s clutches, to speak of ‘before’ time ‘or ‘after’ time doesn’t make sense. You are ‘beyond’ time and the past and the present and the future are, as far as they can exist, all one.

And just as equally, I believe that the spiritual part of our love is something we also take with us beyond the grave, beyond time’s ’embrace.’ In fact, what other purpose is the physical world then the spot designed to learn all the spiritual virtues? You certainly don’t take anything else with you when you go. This explains why cherishing love and keeping it lit and holding it aloft is so important.

And finally, I confess that I am very pleased to finally bring The warp and woof of creation to life, and as always I hope you enjoyed it and look forward to your comments. I first drafted it about 15 years ago and just recently found it in an old notebook, long ago abandoned because honestly, while the core idea was there from the start, it was a pretty awful poem then. I hope I have managed to bring it forth now in a way more deserving of its lofty theme. Perhaps doing so now is—how else can I say it—timely?

© 2013 by John Etheridge; all rights reserved. This poem and accompanying notes are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License. This applies to all original work found on this site, unless noted otherwise. The attribution claimed under the license is: © 2013 by John Etheridge, https://bookofpain.wordpress.com.

7 Comments

Filed under Poetry

7 responses to “The warp and woof of creation

  1. John, I think I understand what you’re saying in your apologia. That’s some heavy shit dude!>KB

    • And will be part of my Ph.D. (“piled higher and deeper”) submission when I get around to trying to bluff my way to it! 🙂

  2. Hey John, I adore this poem and your fascination with time is intriguing to say the least. Don’t you think that the “spiritual part of love” deserves it’s own word? Something more than “love”? It doesn’t seem big enough, or is it just me?

    • Funny you should say that! I agree. In fact, I have been reading a book, “In Other Words” by C.J. Moore that takes individual words from other cultures that we have no match for in English. One is a Czech word litost [LEE-tosht] that sort of inspired me to start on a poem I still would have said it that way which you may just see before the decade is out. But yes, there are many situations that I wish there was a more “intimate” word for. The only problem is that when you say that sort of thing, most people want to squish two words together as a solution. And in the case of, say, spiritual love, “splove” just doesn’t seem to say it. Know what I mean? 🙂

  3. So the question was, “What is the cold, cruel dragon in the sky”? Oh…him…yeah. Actually, he’s entropy, or more correctly, the birth scream of entropy, the notion of randomness which is constantly increasing in our universe; and a darn good thing this is too since life would be impossible without this growth. (For all the energy of the Big Bang, there was no randomness…everything was the same everywhere. Talk about spooky…) Entropy is closely linked to time in the sense that time, like entropy can only both go in one direction. Coincidence? I think not! One of the evidences of the big bang is a residual field of energy that covers the entire sky (is in every direction one looks throughout the universe, wavering only slightly in places) and measures just slightly above absolute coldness.

    Which just goes to show you that the Big Bang (which at this point is, let’s face it, more than a theory) was some roar, huh!?!

  4. Lyn Tolar

    Beautiful & timely!