Let go

Sweetest to my lips is Your Name,
deepest in my heart, Your Voice;
closest to my hope is Your Mercy,
strongest for my courage, Your Memory;
hardest on my fear is Your Justice,
nearest to my serenity, Your Forgiveness;
dearest to my patience is Your Own,
heaviest on my mind, Your truth.

Breathe deep, let go, breathe deep,
repeat…
for when the page before me dries
and I have let go all that I have learned,
I will write this poem down, I promise,
I will write this poem down.
Let go.

Thank you for reading Let go. I sincerely hope you have enjoyed it and I humbly appreciate your visiting the Book of Pain. As always, I look forward to your comments.

john

© 2013 by John Etheridge; all rights reserved. This poem and accompanying notes are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License. This applies to all original work found on this site, unless noted otherwise. The attribution claimed under the license is: © 2013 by John Etheridge, https://bookofpain.wordpress.com.

8 Comments

Filed under Poetry

8 responses to “Let go

  1. John this had a nice meditative flow to it. >KB

  2. I love how beautifully worded this is. The first part sounds like the words a heartbeat would make. The second sounds like the mind instructing itself carefully. It reads like a mantra. Wonderful.

    • Thank you very much! Your evaluation is very generous and sweet. I’m caught tongue tied, and that is not a position I am often left in!

  3. Beautiful rhythm… sweet, gentle, lovely, tender…

    • Thank you so much. You are the master of intense haikus and I particularly appreciate your support on a poem like this where I try to capture the moment. Thank you again!

  4. John… no blah blah, just a sigh.