A peaceful forest

Across the broken back of the old stone wall
the tree lay crashed, staunch, fallen.
Two hundred years seed to crown—
twenty years dying, dead, done and down
with what? twenty more to be gone?

A peaceful forest is a terrible thing
full of musk, chaos and rot.
It is hard to feel young in a forest.
But if you close your eyes, open your ears and listen,
just listen,
you can hear it if you try…
and there’s a measure of peace in that, too.

This is a simple poem for a simple truth: I was driving one day and in a quick glimpse, saw a mighty tree fallen across an old, typical, New England, free-stacked stone wall. The one had broken the other and I thought to myself, “There must be a poem in that!”

I hope you agree.

Thank you for reading A peaceful forest. I sincerely hope you have enjoyed it and I humbly appreciate your visiting the Book of Pain. As always, I look forward to your comments.

john

© 2013 by John Etheridge; all rights reserved. This poem and accompanying notes are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License. This applies to all original work found on this site, unless noted otherwise. The attribution claimed under the license is: © 2013 by John Etheridge, https://bookofpain.wordpress.com.

4 Comments

Filed under Poetry

4 responses to “A peaceful forest

  1. Yes, I do agree. Your words wonderfully painted some picture for me … It’s loaded … the quietness of the forest … the reality of trees dying … the peace. Hope you are well, my friend. T

    • Daniel, mostly well thank you. And how about you? Colorado had been tough on its citizens thus far this year. I have been out of circulation for a bit, but am trying to get back in sync. I must have a dozen poems under construction…hopefully I’ll finish up a few and get them out on a more regular basis.

  2. You were right John, you found the poetry in that scene. There was even poetry in your synopsis! One had broken the other… beautiful! Forty.