mei’s “chasing the shadow”

I can see the sun
but
why can’t I see my shadow
pouring prayer and praises into the cup of faith

*

I can see the dark
and
I can see my shadow
sipping the wine of pleasure from the cup of sin

*

Oh Allah …..,
I am just a grain of substances
which was allowed to stop by and enjoy life
but tend to choose pleasure than piety
I’ve crossed the ocean to the edge of universe
to correct the mistake of my shadow
turns
it has to come from the fibers of this self
to kneel below Thy splendor

by mei

Re-blogging, using my site’s theme, doesn’t tend to work very well; the formatting of the original is never correct. So I have chosen, instead, and with permission, to post a copy, the original of which is posted on Mei’s site “meiro” here.

This is a wonderful and beautiful poem, a prayer really, where the soul exquisitely balances itself between love, longing, humility and humanity before its love, the Ancient of Days. Stunning! I hope you enjoy it!

© 2013 by Mei Rozavian; all rights reserved. Cannot be reproduced in any format whatsoever without the explicit consent of the author.

Comments Off on mei’s “chasing the shadow”

Filed under Poetry

Comments are closed.