Ian Hamilton’s ‘Biography’

Who turned the page? When I went out
Last night, his Life was left wide-open,
Half-way through, in lamplight on my desk:
The Middle years.
Now look at him. Who turned the page?

As I noted when I posted Ian Hamilton’s ‘In Dreams’ I am going to post s selection of his poems to share this remarkable poet’s work.  Biography is the first Ian Hamilton poem I read.

For more on Ian Hamilton, I refer you to: his Wikipedia page.

Thank you for reading Ian Hamilton’s ‘Biography’. I sincerely hope you have enjoyed it and I humbly appreciate your visiting the Book of Pain. As always, I look forward to your comments.

john

Comments © 2013 by John Etheridge; all rights reserved.

4 Comments

Filed under Poetry

4 responses to “Ian Hamilton’s ‘Biography’

  1. I love the question in this one, John.

    • Isn’t this just a delicious poem? I am so glad you liked it. So short and yet with such emotional impact. I remain in awe of it.

  2. Maybe my imagination … you’ve got this thing in your writing and the poems you choose that have a mystical piece, and a mystical “peace” … and in these few lines there is so much there … the lamplight seems to illumine the whole poem so that the question can be seen clearly, and heard.

    • Wow, what a beautiful compliment and one, I assure you, I accept with great humility. Thank you so much. I am so glad that John from The Bully Pulpit exposed me to Hamilton’s work…and in fact, this poem specifically. I read at least one of his poems every evening just before I go to sleep.