There

This do I know:
that there on that spot,
on that blessed, sweet spot,
on that spot of perfect, constant submission—
there does she stand and alone is she there,
she who is known only to those who can see her.
Of her, by her, due her—does she.

As I noted in Lucinda, the second Lenora, the original of that poem I cut into two poems and promised that when I next posted I would post that second poem.

There is that second poem and it is only about, and is all about, her, my wonderful, loving and generous sister.

Thank you for reading There. I sincerely hope you have enjoyed it and I humbly appreciate your visiting the Book of Pain. As always, I look forward to your comments.

john

© 2013 by John Etheridge; all rights reserved. This poem and accompanying notes are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License. This applies to all original work found on this site, unless noted otherwise. The attribution claimed under the license is: © 2013 by John Etheridge, https://bookofpain.wordpress.com.

6 Comments

Filed under Poetry

6 responses to “There

  1. Pingback: Lucinda, the Second Lenora | the Book of Pain

  2. It’s a gorgeous poem John – yet again leaving me in awe of your ability.

    • Simon, you are too harsh on yourself and too…ok, not ‘too’, but generously (thank you!) kind to me! I have read O Night! and Judgmental Moon…these are very good poems! I should share with you that another blogger has suggested Ian Hamilton to me. I got a soft cover copy of his book Collected Poems via a British vendor at Amazon…his work is INCREDIBLE and I am sure you’d love it.

  3. Barbara Minor

    it is refreshing to read how a man regards his sister with love and deep respect. My youngest brother similarly viewed his older sister Lois (who has been visiting Baha’u’llah for two years). I so enjoyed watching the two of them horse around having spelling contests and highly spirited world affairs discussions. Challenge of wits. They were 2 years apart, very close, and younger than myself. Now that she is gone, I have found that these sibling relationships are rare and I am so blessed, something you and I both share. Thanx for this one john.