Morning coffee

Her balance is in the flow
of scent-whispered questions
which scorch and sear,
the sparks from the caffeine
leaving your lips lonely and wanting more.
Not you, me, says that walk,
as she sashays out the door
leaving you wondering
and then wondering some more.
Not you, me.

This is the second collaborative poem of my poet’s circle the PenDragons. Read the first collaborative poem and more about the project in general here.

Thank you so much for reading Morning coffee. I sincerely hope you have enjoyed it and I humbly appreciate your visiting the Book of Pain. As always, I look forward to your comments. Please, too, visit my fellow PenDargons’ sites: Julia Dean-Richards of A Place For Poetry (http://aplaceforpoetry.wordpress.com), Elizabeth Cook of Serial Outlet (http://serialoutlet.wordpress.com) and Jordan Joseph Roe of Tierce & Hum (http://tierceandhum.wordpress.com). All are excellent poets and they host excellent sites! I am honored to be in their circle.

john

© 2013 by John Etheridge, Julia Dean-Richards, Elizabeth Cook and Jordan Joseph Roe; all rights reserved. The poems in this posting, and the notes that accompany it, may not be printed or distributed without the written permission of the authors.

10 Comments

Filed under Poetry

10 responses to “Morning coffee

  1. It means she wont share her coffee with you! Simple! :)) Stop wondering dude!

  2. To me, it means she is aware of her own magnetism. She is ‘balanced’; sure of herself, centred. so glad it reached the page, John; it works really well.

  3. Oh what a nice post, John, it’s great to see all the PenDragons’ names!

    Elizabeth

  4. I adore poems that challenge ones imagination and have different interpretations. This one is a good example. Very nice. Interesting idea… to collaborate… I wouldn’t have thought of it.

  5. HA ! This rocks, uh-huh, yes. I’ll probably need to come back for a refill, of some more morning coffee …

  6. Pingback: On Writing… | the Book of Pain