What a difference a life makes

Dying since ‘Nam,
ger tzedek last week,
dying again today.
If I didn’t have anything to laugh at,
I’d weep.

Recently I posted A Time To Laugh, a poem for a dear friend who had passed away. In going through my notes, I discovered another poem written on the day of his death as I drove back to my office after visiting him for the last time.

A “ger” is, in Hebrew, a male convert to Judaism and is related to the ancient word used to mean “to reside.” It originally meant “stranger,” i.e. a non-Jew living in Israel. A “ger tzedek” is used in the Talmud to denote a righteous convert, a process Carl underwent just before his death.

But I am not Jewish. If I have misconstrued these words, it is by accident, not intent, and I apologize in advance. Corrections are welcomed.

Thank you for reading What a difference a life makes. I sincerely hope you have enjoyed it and I humbly appreciate your visiting the Book of Pain. As always, I look forward to your comments.

john

© 2013 by John Etheridge; all rights reserved. This poem and accompanying notes are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License. This applies to all original work found on this site, unless noted otherwise. The attribution claimed under the license is: © 2013 by John Etheridge, https://bookofpain.wordpress.com.

Comments Off on What a difference a life makes

Filed under Poetry

Comments are closed.