In the wind

She moves, I think, through haunted air
distractedly,
while everyone else, madcap, breezes by,
quit now of worry
and missing the memories and hopes
that lie thick all around,
lingering.
But what breaks her heart is, I fear,
what left her for dead in the first place,
so I pray
that it’s not over, and yet it is,
that it’s not over, say what you will,
that it’s not over, you are not drifting,
I will stand with you wherever you land.

A major life changing crisis is a difficult thing to survive and manage. The feelings and emotions are so intense and the risks so very real. But once it is over—well that’s the question, isn’t it—is it ever really over?

Certainly from the viewpoint of people on the outside of the event there may come a time when, for them, the crisis is past and life returns to normal. But for the person at the apex of the crisis it continues to be not just what they went through, but what in the end it means to them going forward.

Such were my thoughts when thinking about a dear friend who had gone through such an event. I instinctively knew there would come a time when the world would carry on, but that that was the precise moment when she would be at her most vulnerable, when she would most need a friend to tell her that she was loved and that she would be supported when she needed it. Someone who was not, “Thank God that’s over, ” because it is, but it isn’t.

I remember my friend telling me that she did not want her crisis to be the event that defines her; she was more before it happened and would be more after. And yet, how can you not review your life, review where you are, review where you’ve been, think about where you are going, after a crisis?

In the end, no matter how much you empathize, no one can understand more than the person who is living it, what they have been through and what it means. But what you can do is pledge to be there for them, whenever and however and whatever they need. You cannot live someone’s pain, but you can always help them live it and survive it. That is what friends do.

Thank you for reading In the wind. I sincerely hope you have enjoyed it and I humbly appreciate your visiting the Book of Pain. As always, I look forward to your comments.

john

© 2013 by John Etheridge; all rights reserved. This poem and accompanying notes are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License. This applies to all original work found on this site, unless noted otherwise. The attribution claimed under the license is: © 2013 by John Etheridge, https://bookofpain.wordpress.com.

5 Comments

Filed under Poetry

5 responses to “In the wind

  1. Your thoughtful discussion is very lovely and most appreciated x

    • Julia, you are ever kind. Thank you! And again I say it, from someone with your work behind you, a deeply appreciated compliment!

  2. Marian

    After Seven Years

    All there was before the shock
    I have been clearing, sorting,
    using the best
    for my foundation.

    He was the one
    who introduced me
    to the Maker of Blueprints
    and encouraged me to build
    My spire toward heaven