Solo goes solo with nothing

My oldest penned a story
about Solo the duck
who flees the certain safety of his flock.
Only eleven and already he knows
what it is that I cannot teach him:
writing from the heart gives, at its best,
a truth that we must learn to live with.

So listen now son, this is for the future:
go ask the children,
go ask the mystics,
seek from the poets
and learn from your lovers;
leave no mother, no father, no sister, no brother,
no anyone left unimplored.
Because in the end, if you’re lucky,
they will all break your heart with love.
Solo goes solo with nothing.

This poem was inspired by my son, Balsam, who wrote a short story entitled Solo Goes Solo With Nothing. I was instantly charmed by both the title and the story and wanted to capture the moment in a poem. I am not sure if ducks do gather in flocks, and if they do, certainly not like starlings; but I am certain that eleven year old children generally think they do.

Thank you for reading Solo goes solo with nothing. I sincerely hope you have enjoyed it and I humbly appreciate your visiting the Book of Pain. As always, I look forward to your comments.

john

© 2012 by John Etheridge; all rights reserved. This poem and accompanying notes are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License. This applies to all original work found on this site, unless noted otherwise. The attribution claimed under the license is: © 2012 by John Etheridge, https://bookofpain.wordpress.com.

Comments Off on Solo goes solo with nothing

Filed under Poetry

Comments are closed.